Passing road kill; this paper will advance me to JR English
written @ 6:54 p.m. on 2003-08-27

I'm tired of seeing road kill on the side of the road. To me, animals are the most innocent creatures on earth. Porcupines, gofers, squirrels, dogs; all equal. Its not our fault that we hit them, but its our fault that we just leave it there.

I hit a squirrel once, and I cried. I saw a dead cat on the road, and I got upset. Its sad that the person left the poor cat body there, for everyone else to mourn over as they are passing by. Pick your road kill up, bury it, its the right thing to do.

I feel as though if my cat was hit by a car that I wouldn�t want to know. I would want to use my imagination to its full extent to picture him in a home, with a nice happy family who spoil him by giving him cat nip every day. I wouldn�t want to be on my way to work and see him lying in a disgruntled position on the side of the road as large trucks pass sweeping dirt particles on him. It would kill me to know that someone hit him, and then ran. And that�s what it is, a hit and run. Murder.

Its such a horrible name too. "road kill". I love my cat more than some human beings, and I�m sure you do too. So if you were to hit one of those people who you like a lot less than your cat, would you just keep on driving and say "road kill"?

NO!

You would bury the body in hopes that no one would ever find it.

Animal killers get what, a warning? A year or two in prison?

Murderers get life.

Who put the value on these innocent lives?

Picture an old lady. She�s seen the lives of loved ones pass, and the only thing she has left in the world is her little miniature poodle named fluffy. She loves fluffy like her own child. If you hit fluffy while he was crossing the street, could the little old lady sue you? Would you go to jail?

All together now�

NO!

Good job.

But say you were to hit the old lady�s distant twice removed grandchild. If she was the only living family member, she would have big bucks.

The point I�m trying to get across here is how much does your life mean to you? To some it may be the equivalent to there beloved pet. Think about that next time you cross the street. You don�t want to end up on the side of the road for weeks, while the hot smoldering sun fries you on the tar, do you?

earlier or later